Home Our Label Contact Newsletter Flag
History | Program | Catalogs
WERGO > CDs > Music of Our Lives > Between - Contemplation
Basket
 0 Products / 0.00 €
My Shop
Product search
   
Detailed search
Our Catalogs 
  eda records
  Music of Our Time
  Music of Our Time / Special
  Music from Paradise
  Music of Our Lives
  Music from Nature
  Music of World Cultures
  Special Offer
  Special Series - artist.cd
  Special Series - DVD
Composers
Artists
Concerts
Magazine
Books
mid-price
Terms
Disclaimer
INTUITION
Deutsch
English
Between - Contemplation
CD
composer: Between - Roberto C. Détrée - Robert Eliscu - Tom van der Geld - Peter Michael Hamel
interpreter: Ilona Pederson - Gary Todd - Between - Jeffrey Biddeau - Pandit Sankha Kumar Chatterjee - Roberto C. Détrée - Robert Eliscu - Tom van der Geld - Peter Michael Hamel - Peter Mueller-Pannke
Roberto C. Détrée: guitar / Robert Eliscu: oboe / Peter Michael Hamel: piano, voice, zither, electronic organ, pipe organ / Gary Lyn Todd: bass / Pandit Sankha Kumar Chatterjee: tabla / Charlie Campbell: congas / Peter Müller-Pannke: tambura, percussion / Tom van der Geld: vibraphone / Ilona Peterson: english horn / Jeffrey Biddeau: four tuned conga drums
Order number: INT 36032 14.99 €  Add to basket

Price including VAT and plus delivery

“BETWEEN stood and still stands for the simultaneity of things that are really mutually exclusive” (Peter Michael Hamel, 2005)
“Originally we wanted to call the project B.A.C.H.,” Peter Michael Hamel re-calls, when, in 1970, they were looking for the most unusual name possible for a extremely unusual formation. “Naturally we chose in it in part in allusion to the immortal baroque composer of that name, but above all the letters stood for “Between All Chairs.” That’s exactly how we thought of ourselves. But when we discovered that the idiom doesn’t even exist in English, we dropped it.”
What was left was the word “between,” and the four original members of the group finally decided on that as the band’s name. And even this slimmed version says a great deal about the way we saw this project, which was both originary and original: “We always felt our music was something ‘in-between,’ nothing comparable had existed previously,” Hamel is still convinced. “Above all, our sound existed between the categories of serious and popular music. You could never pin us down to a particular category. That still pleases me today!”

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

With the first BETWEEN LP in the series Centerpoint in 1971, WERGO marked off the framework by which current music that did not belong to any of the established musical directions would find a place on the record market. If “popular music” and “serious music” are often difficult to separate today, if pop music makes use of avant-garde elements like musique concrète, and vice versa (crossover), such approaches were still breaking new ground in 1970.
Over the ten years of its existence BETWEEN released six albums on WERGO:
• Einstieg (1971)
• And the Waters Opened (1973)
• Hesse between Music (1974)
• Dharana (1974)
• Contemplation (1976–77)
• Silence beyond Time (1979) 
Of these Dharana and Hesse Between Music have already been released as CDs on WERGO; the others are being reissued now, with previously unreleased extra tracks, including some from a Bayerischer Rundfunk concert series (“Music between Worlds”) that ran from 1976 to 1979.
The 1970s live electronics began to conquer the world, but for that very reason BETWEEN essentially played “unplugged,” playing chamber music on traditional instruments and in the resulting acoustic framework. At the intersection of acoustic and electronic sound worlds, BETWEEN anticipated a lot of developments, and yet it only seemed to be operating on electronic ground.
By 1980 the group had spent ten years working intensely with the musical past of each individual; the pieces produced were extremely varied; BETWEEN had developed an iridescent combination of classical, avant-garde and pop music and medieval and Far Eastern music as well as popular ethnic music. They had gotten closer to the “dream of the blue flower between the milestones along the path to a future world music.” The members of the group went their own ways, and Eliscu, Campbell, and Stranz are no longer alive. Even today, decades later, when the cultural circles have been permeated as never before, the synthesis they have achieved may still be considered up-to-date.
(Excerpts from the Linernotes)

Content:
contemplation
Watch The Trees
Circle
Ivory And Steel
Space Between
Orphikon
State Of Sound
Between - Contemplation
Order number: INT 36032 14.99 €  Add to basket
 Print    Top

Home Unser Label Kontakt Newsletter Impressum
Geschichte | Programm | Kataloge
WERGO > CDs > Music of Our Lives > Between - Contemplation
Warenkorb
 0 Produkte / 0,00 €
Mein Shop
Produktsuche
   
Detailsuche
Unsere Kataloge 
  eda records
  Music of Our Time
  Music of Our Time / Special
  Music from Paradise
  Music of Our Lives
  Music from Nature
  Music of World Cultures
  Special Offer
  Special Series - artist.cd
  Special Series - DVD
Komponisten
Künstler
Konzerte
Magazin
Bücher
mid-price
AGB
Haftungsausschluss
INTUITION
Deutsch
English
Between - Contemplation
CD
Komponist: Between - Roberto C. Détrée - Robert Eliscu - Tom van der Geld - Peter Michael Hamel
Interpret: Between - Jeffrey Biddeau - Pandit Sankha Kumar Chatterjee - Roberto C. Détrée - Robert Eliscu - Tom van der Geld - Peter Michael Hamel - Peter Müller-Pannke - Ilona Pederson - Gary Todd
Roberto C. Détrée: guitar / Robert Eliscu: oboe / Peter Michael Hamel: piano, voice, zither, electronic organ, pipe organ / Gary Lyn Todd: bass / Pandit Sankha Kumar Chatterjee: tabla / Charlie Campbell: congas / Peter Müller-Pannke: tambura, percussion / Tom van der Geld: vibraphone / Ilona Peterson: english horn / Jeffrey Biddeau: four tuned conga drums
Bestell-Nr.: INT 36032 14,99 €  In den Warenkorb

Preis inkl. MwSt. und zzgl. Versandkosten

„BETWEEN stand und steht für die Gleichzeitigkeit von Dingen, die sich eigentlich ausschließen“ (Peter Michael Hamel, 2005)
„Eigentlich wollten wir unser Projekt B.A.C.H. nennen“, erinnert sich Peter Michael Hamel an das Jahr 1970, als es darum ging, einen möglichst ungewöhnlichen Namen für eine äußerst ungewöhnliche Formation zu finden. „Natürlich trafen wir diese Wahl ein bißchen in Anlehnung an den unsterblichen Barock-Komponisten gleichen Namens, vor allem aber standen diese vier Buchstaben für „Between All Chairs“, zu Deutsch: „Zwischen Allen Stühlen“. Denn genauso empfanden wir unsere Musik. Doch als wir feststellten, daß dieses Idiom im Englischen gar nicht existiert, ließen wir es bleiben.“
Übrig geblieben ist der Begriff „Between“, auf den sich die vier Gründungsmitglieder der Gruppe schließlich als Bandnamen einigten. Und auch dieser abgespeckte Begriff sagt jede Menge aus über das Selbstverständnis jenes so originär-originellen Projekts: „Wir empfanden unsere Musik immer als ein „Dazwischen“, etwas Vergleichbares hatte es zuvor nicht gegeben.. Vor allem steckte unser Sound zwischen den Kategorien E- und U-Musik. Man konnte uns niemals auf irgendeine Kategorie festnageln. Damit bin ich bis heute zufrieden!“, so Hamel.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

Mit der ersten BETWEEN-LP steckte das Label WERGO 1971 in der Reihe Centerpoint den Rahmen ab, in dem aktuelle Musik auf dem Schallplattenmarkt einen Platz finden sollte, welche sich keiner der etablierten Musikrichtungen zuordnen ließ. Denn wenn sich heute „U- und E-Musik“ oft kaum voneinander trennen lassen, wenn Popmusik avantgardistische Elemente wie „Musique concrète“ aufnimmt und umgekehrt (cross over), so betrat man 1970 mit solchen Ansätzen Neuland.
In den zehn Jahren des Bestehens hat BETWEEN insgesamt sechs LPs bei WERGO veröffentlicht:
• Einstieg (1971)
• And the waters opened (1973)
• Hesse Between Music (1974)
• Dharana (1974)
• Contemplation (1976–77)
• Silence beyond time (1979) 
Davon sind Dharana und Hesse Between Music als CD bei WERGO bereits wieder erschienen, die restlichen werden jetzt bei Intuition neu aufgelegt, ergänzt durch bisher unveröffentlichte Titel, u.a. aus einer Konzertreihe des Bayerischen Rundfunks („Musik zwischen den Welten"), die zwischen 1976 und 1979 stattfand.
In den 70er Jahren begann der Siegeszug der Live-Elektronik, doch schon aufgrund ihrer Entstehung spielte BETWEEN im Wesentlichen „unplugged“, machte Kammermusik auf herkömmlichen Instrumenten und in dem dadurch gegebenen akustischen Rahmen. An der Nahtstelle zwischen akustischer und elektronischer Klangwelt nimmt BETWEEN vieles vorweg und bewegt sich dabei auf einem nur scheinbar elektronischen Boden.
1980 waren zehn Jahre einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit der musikalischen Vergangenheit jedes Einzelnen vergangen, waren Stücke äußerst unterschiedlicher Prägung entstanden, hatte BETWEEN eine bunt - schillernde Verbindung hergestellt zwischen Klassik, Avantgarde, Popmusik, mittelalterlicher und fernöstlicher Musik sowie internationaler Folklore. Man war dem „Traum von der blauen Blume zwischen den Meilensteinen auf dem Weg zu einer zukünftigen Weltmusik“ näher gekommen. Die Mitglieder der Gruppe gingen danach wieder ihre eigenen Wege, Eliscu, Campbell und Stranz sind nicht mehr am Leben. Die erreichte Synthese darf man auch Jahrzehnte später, wo sich die Kulturkreise durchdringen wie nie zuvor, noch immer als aktuell bezeichnen.
(Auszüge aus den Linernotes)

Inhalt:
contemplation
Watch The Trees
Circle
Ivory And Steel
Space Between
Orphikon
State Of Sound
Between - Contemplation
Bestell-Nr.: INT 36032 14,99 €  In den Warenkorb
 Drucken    Seitenanfang