You are not logged in. | LoginLogin

Spectral Strands

Spectral Strands

for Viola and Visuals

Edition ZKM
ZKM electronic

composer: Salvatore Sciarrino - Kaija Saariaho - Michael Edwards - Gérard Grisey - Giacinto Scelsi
interpreter: Götz Dipper - Michael Edwards - Joachim Goßmann - Garth Knox
booklet writer: Kaija Saariaho - Ludger Bruemmer - Michael Edwards - Marcella Faustini - Gérard Grisey - Garth Knox - Richard Toop
video artist: Brian O' Reilly

Garth Knox: viola, viola d’amore / Brian O' Reilly: video / Götz Dipper: electronics / Joachim Goßmann: electronics / Michael Edwards: electronics

Edition: DVD
Order number: WER 20625

Price: 18.50 €
including VAT and plus delivery


Giacinto Scelsi: Manto for solo viola

Salvatore Sciarrino: Notturno brillante for solo viola

Gérard Grisey: Prologue for viola and live electronics

Salvatore Sciarrino: Notturno brillante II for solo viola

Michael Edwards: 24/7: freedom fried for Viola d’amore and live electronics

Salvatore Sciarrino: Notturno brillante III for solo-viola

Kaija Saariaho Vent nocturne for Viola and live electronics



The first-class viola virtuoso Garth Knox met the well-known video artist Brian O’Reilly. The result is a unique audiovisual program with compositions by Giacinto Scelsi, Salvatore Sciarrino, Gérard Grisey, Michael Edwards and Kaija Saariaho, where the audible and visible correspondences of light, shadow, texture and color and their fragmentation offer new ways of perception.
The production Spectral Strands with works for viola, both with and without electronics, created by foremost composers and interpreted by one of the most outstanding viola players, forms in combination with the brilliant video material a unique conjunction of sound, space and image
Although the rainbow is a familiar object, the discovery that ordinary white light can be split into a spectacular spectrum of bands of light remains a source of wonder. With the advent of spectral music the same process was applied to sound, and the no less spectacular sound spectrums obtained with the help of the computer excited a whole generation of composers.


There are currently no products in the basket.
Catalogs NewsletterFacebookRecommend